Special Education

Linda Brown

Special Ed Associate

E: linda.brown3@dmschools.org

Shayla Downing

Special Education Teacher

E: shayla.downing@dmschools.org

Biography

Education

  • University of Northern Iowa- Bachelor's Degree in Elementary Education with an endorsement in Special Education

Teaching Experience

  • Special Education- 2 Years

Family/Hobbies

  • I live with my husband Ryan and son Hunter. I enjoy spending time with my family, golfing and shopping.

Rochelle Evans

Special Education Associate

E: Rochelle.Evans@dmschools.org

Mallory Fraaken

Special Education Teacher

E: mallory.munson@dmschools.org

Biography

Education

  • Iowa State University- Master's in Education with an endorsement in Level 2 Special Education
  • Central College- Bachelor's Degree Elementary Education with endorsements in Reading and Special Education

Teaching Experience

  • Special Education- 3 Years
  • 4th Grade at Urbandale- 6 Years

Family/Hobbies

  • When I am not at school I enjoy playing slow-pitch softball, reading on my deck, taking my dog Buster for a walk, and spending time with my family.

Riley Gavin

Special Education Teacher

E: riley.gavin@dmschools.org

Lisa Kirby

Special Ed Associate

E: lisa.kirby@dmschools.org

Julie Lersten

Speech and Language Pathologist

E: julie.lersten@dmschools.org

Biography

Education

  • University of Northern Iowa- Master's Degree in Speech Pathology

Teaching Experience

  • River Woods and Moulton Speech Language Pathologist
  • Des Moines Public Schools- 15 Years

Family/Hobbies

  • I am married and have 3 children who live in Denver, Boston, and Chicago- all great places to visit!

Kristeen Varvais

Special Education Teacher

E: Kristeen.Varvais@dmschools.org